what's the strength of the Flora temple opening?

Discussion and analysis about openings.

what's the strength of the Flora temple opening?

Postby AlanD on Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:39 pm

I've been looking at many sites and book to see the point of the flora temple opening. It seems to me that the move 9-13 was meant to place a piece on the side of the opponent's single corner so you can run it for king later. But if I play 9-13 and 16-20, I'm leaving center for the other person to control. So how can the flora temple opening be so famous? I'm somewhat new to checkers, so can someone please explain to me in depth about the flora temple?
AlanD

Re: what's the strength of the Flora temple opening?

Postby Patrick Parker on Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:58 pm

Last edited by Patrick Parker on Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Patrick Parker

Postby AlanD on Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:56 pm

The 16-20 is done a few turns after the 12-16. And you're right, if white should play 24-20? after red's 9-13, he'll lose. Im wondering why red play 16-20 after white plays something else other than 24-20?
AlanD

Postby Patrick Parker on Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:29 pm

Last edited by Patrick Parker on Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Patrick Parker

Postby Ingo_Zachos on Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:46 am

AlanD wrote:...It seems to me that the move 9-13 was meant to place a piece on the side of the opponent's single corner so you can run it for king later. But if I play 9-13 and 16-20, I'm leaving center for the other person to control. ...

Dear Alan, you r right from a beginner's view, as both 12-16 and 9-13 seem to violate the simple rule "play in the centre", so 9-13 seems simply like an attempt to confuse the opponent and to set some traps "...to run for a king".

But: