Analysis of Checkers

General Discussion about the game of Checkers.

Analysis of Checkers

Postby Cheryl on Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:26 pm

I am a student of The Ohio State University studying pre-Landscape Architecture. I am currently enrolled in a design studio course. We are presently working on the analysis of a sport. I chose checkers and in my research I came across the ACF website. The site has been extremely helpful but I am still left with some questions. It is my hope that someone may be able to answer my questions or refer me to another source so that I may achieve a better understanding.
My first task in this checkers analysis is to determine the spatial and social complexities of the game. The first idea I would like to understand is why Americans play on a 64 square grid as opposed to a 100 square grid like many other countries? The next idea I would like to better understand is why the gameboard is green and white and why the pieces are red and white? I would also like to know what the materiality of the official gameboard is and if it folds? Aditionally, I would like to find out the thickness of the game board and where the board and pieces are stored (if applicable).
For my second task of dealing with the social aspects of the game,I would like to know if there is a dress code for the players and referees? Lastly, I would like to know if players and spectators interact with each other aside from the matches?
Any help you may be able to offer would be very much appreciated! Thank you for time.
Cheryl

Re: Analysis of Checkers

Postby matthewkooshad on Tue Jan 31, 2006 11:41 pm

Board / Piece colors: http://www.usacheckers.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=307

Best of luck with your studies. Maybe someone else can help you with the other questions and this question if that link does not fully answer it.
matthewkooshad

Postby john reade on Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:44 am

Cheryll,