Hello - I'm new to Checkers...

General Discussion about the game of Checkers.

Hello - I'm new to Checkers...

Postby Michael S. Sanders on Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:56 pm

Erm, or at least as its officially played. Programming on the side is a hobby of mine. Thought I'd build a checker puzzle application. Yet that effort for the time being, has been derailed as I've gotten caught up with all things 'Checkers' =)

At any rate just thought I say hello and back to learning the game. As soon as my copy of Hopper's 'How to play winning checkers' arrives, I look forward to reading it.

Well, nice to meet you all. I hope to learn from each and everyone =)
Michael S. Sanders

greetings michael

Postby kiwinurse on Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:31 pm

Nice to see you here
kiwinurse

Re: greetings michael

Postby Michael S. Sanders on Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:04 am

kiwinurse wrote:Nice to see you here

Many thanks for the reply kiwinurse, appreciate it. I see you hail from New Zealand. Me? U.S. in Texas.

So, how did you become interested in the game?
Michael S. Sanders

hi

Postby kiwinurse on Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:00 pm

Well my husband Jim bought home a computer,and i decided i wanted to meet overseas people,and the best way of doing that was going online and playing a game like checkers.And i did that for a while, then one day An American man came in to my online room and asked me why i didnt come to vegas to the nationals to play.I thought why not! So i went and met a few of the people id played online with.After that i was hooked.
kiwinurse

Re: hi

Postby Michael S. Sanders on Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:37 pm

I'm married as well with two teenage boys who can be a handful =) Man I wish I was as free spirited as you are, that's great =) I own an operate a small handyman business that keeps me fairly well tied up, so the internet is where I plan to do most of my Checkering. Still very much the newbie so you'll see all the silly questions I'll be asking down the road :/
Michael S. Sanders

hi