Article Archive

Jim Morrison Wins GAYP National Tournament

Congratulations to Jim Morrison (Glasgow, KY) for winning his own "Jim Morrison" ACF GAYP National Tournament held in Lebanon, TN August 3-7. Jim won a three-way tie by honor points over Joe Schwartz (2nd) and Richard Beckwith (3rd). Albert Tucker won the Majors division on honor points over Josh Armstrong. Willis Shewcraft won the Minors. Forty-six players from three countries participated, with a prize fund of $9000. Jim Morrison won first prize of $1974 and had already agreed to represent USA in the upcoming World GAYP Qualifier on September 1-4 in England. Jim also won the GAYP National event in 1995 and 1991. Wilma Wolverton captured the trophy as highest finishing woman player. The "Arthur Niederhoffer" Youth Tournament was won by Josh Armstrong (older youth) and Solomon Reece (younger youth).

There are two world title matches expected later this year. Alex Moiseyev will defend his three-move world title against Ron King (Barbados). The match is scheduled to take place Oct. 5-15 in Medina, Ohio. Amangul Durdyeva (Turkmenistan) will defend the woman's three-move title against Javzan Gerelchuluun (Mongolia). It appears the match will occur October 23-28 in Mongolia, but negotiations are still pending.

Richard Beckwith,
ACF Player Rep